Locality community planning partnerships

There are four locality community planning partnerships across the city:

  • North East (Craigentinny/Duddingston, Leith, Leith Walk and Portobello/Craigmillar wards)
  • South East (City Centre, Morningside, Southside/Newington and Liberton/Gilmerton wards)
  • North West (Almond, Drumbrae/Gyle, Corstorphine/Murrayfield, Forth and Inverleith wards)
  • South West (Pentland Hills, Colinton/Fairmilehead, Sighthill/Gorgie and Fountainbridge/Craiglockhart wards)

Under the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015, there is a legislative duty to have locality improvement plans. Each locality community planning partnership is responsible for the development, delivery and joint resourcing of their respective plan, reporting to the board.

Core membership for each partnership includes:

  • City of Edinburgh Council (one elected member for each ward in the locality and officer representation)
  • Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
  • Police Scotland
  • NHS Lothian
  • Health and Social Care Partnership
  • Skills Development Scotland
  • Third sector
  • Neighbourhood network (one representative for each network)

Each partnership may also choose additional members who represent an organisation with knowledge of, or interests in the area. For example, this could be on a thematic basis such as education.